PDA

View Full Version : Interior misc paint advice needed

dhbfaster
August 30th, 2013, 04:59 PM
Looking to paint some of the various not highly, but slightly cosmetic interior metal parts soon...(61)the parking brake handle housing, metal parts on the seat, different brackets, maybe the steering column etc....any advice on which version of black to use? What brands? What primer, etc.?
Thanks...!

Vikingblu
August 30th, 2013, 05:06 PM
Looking to paint some of the various not highly, but slightly cosmetic interior metal parts soon...(61)the parking brake handle housing, metal parts on the seat, different brackets, maybe the steering column etc....any advice on which version of black to use? What brands? What primer, etc.?
Thanks...!

Spray gun or rattle can?

dhbfaster
August 30th, 2013, 07:32 PM
I was thinking rattle can at least for the small stuff, but I also need to paint the seat frames...open to advice! I'm new at painting, I don't have my own gun yet and my current compressor is only 5.8 Cfm at 90 or I think 7.8 at 40. I've seen some sprayers at Eastwood made for that cfm level...but no idea if they are any good. Again...open to advice.

pbrown
August 30th, 2013, 08:32 PM
Powder coat the seat frames.

Here is a decent low cost paint gun that you could use. It's great for beginners and works well with smaller compressors.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LVLP-Gravity-Feed-Spray-Gun-Assembly-with-1-4mm-Nozzle-/190287595906?pt=Motors_Automotive_Tools&hash=item2c4e064982&vxp=mtr

Ageless
August 30th, 2013, 09:12 PM
If ya want to rattle can; Ace Hardware has Rustoleum @2/$5 this weekend. I'm using the satin finish black on suspension parts

Jeff W
August 30th, 2013, 10:24 PM